Nichols Middle School History
Nichols Middle School opened in 1928-29. The superintendent at the time of the school’s opening, Frederick Nichols, whom the school is named after, was a world traveler, craftsperson, and appreciator of art. He worked closely with the architect Frank Childs to create a school full of architectural treasures. Parts of the exterior were inspired by the Palazzo Ducale (Doge’s Palace) in Venice, Italy. The interior featured Tudor-style features, stained glass windows, Florentine stone lions, and ceramic tiles depicting the story of Don Quixote. Although the original school layout and some of the features have changed throughout the years, many distinguishing features remain.
Frederick W. Nichols
The school is named after Frederick W. Nichols (1858-1948), Superintendent of District 76 from 1885-1889 and 1892-1933. At that time, Nicholas was known as the “The Best Loved Man in Evanston”.1 He was said to have brought to Evanston when he arrived “a simple friendliness and a genuine interest in children as human beings which was too rare in the schools of that day.”2 Nichols was a progressive educator who believed that children should be allowed to develop their own talents on their own initiative. In the 1890s, he introduced pen and ink in his schools, replacing slate and pencil. This was so revolutionary that some parents wanted to fire him for it. Nichols also was on the board of the Evanston Public Library, and as early as 1896, he initiated “library extensions” so library books could be distributed at schools through the teachers.
Nichols was a world traveler and had a great appreciation for art. During the summers, he and his wife, Viola, traveled extensively and brought back artistic pieces from across the world, many of which can be found throughout the school today. Through his lectures on art appreciation he raised money for the purchase of art in schools. He believed that schools should be full of beauty, which would develop a child’s character. One of Nichols’ hobbies was collecting rare tiles and arranging them on benches and other structures. Examples of these can be found at various Evanston schools and on a bench currently inside the Evanston History Center.
“The legacy left to us by Mr. Nichols is not so much in material as in spiritual richness. His glorious success comes from his progressive ideals, his encouragement of pupil initiative, and appreciation of art, a sure sense of beauty, and a striving for excellence.” -Ruth Longman, teacher at Nichols School, 1939.
_____
1The Illinois Teacher, October 1939
2The Evanston Review, March 1948
The D65 School History project is the result of a partnership with Evanston History Center. This research was completed by the Evanston History Center with research contributions by Aileen Cruz (ETHS class of 2026) and Jhonae Jaghai (ETHS class of 2027).
School History
Interested in the history of other District 65 schools?
Chute Middle School, originally named Oscar M. Chute Junior High, opened in 1966.
Dawes School is named after U.S. Vice President General Charles G. Dawes.
Dewey Elementary School was the first school in Evanston to have a kindergarten.
In 2004 Dr. Bessie Rhodes became the first Black woman to have a school named after her in Evanston.
The original King Lab was located in what is now Family Focus.
Ellen Foster, the first principal, viewed the school as a community hub.
Haven Middle School was initially built to serve students from two school districts.
Joseph E. Hill became Evanston's first Black superintendent of schools in 1975.
Namesake Homer Kingsley started the first Evanston public school kindergarten in 1882.
In the 1890s, children voted to name their new school "Lincoln" after the U.S. President.
The name incorporates nearby geographical features: Lincoln Street and a wooded area.
Frederick Nichols worked closely with the architect to create a school full of treasures.
Oakton is home to murals created by the Works Progress Administration in the 1930s.
Orrington's site was previously home to a Potawatomi village and burial ground.
The predecessor to Park School was established in 1949 by a group of parents.
The school was named after Chicago-area philanthropists Daniel and Ada Rice.
Walker opened to address rising enrollment due to the baby boom generation.
The yellow brick building on the corner of Main and Ashland is the original school.
The school was named after world-renowned social reformer Frances Willard.



